infoslogo
-Liege-
infoslogo
Home
 
Country

Find all the best Museums and Heritage sites now with us….

The Great Curtius Museum is a museum of archaeology and decorative arts, located on the bank of the Meuse River in Liège, classified as a Major Heritage of Wallonia.

The Boverie Museum Renowned art museum housed in the 1905 World Fair’s Fine Arts Palace, on lush parkland. Address: Parc de la Boverie 3, 4020 Liège, Belgium

The Sart-Tilman Open Air Museum was founded in 1977, showcases a collection of about a hundred monumental works in the open air (sculptures and architectural integrations), strewn across the grounds of Liège University in Sart-Tilman.

Tresor de Liege Museum, the Treasury has a soul, a reflection of a culture, an art and a history of a country, the episcopal principality of Liège. This vast territory, braced on the Meuse, is headed by a bishop, delegate of the Germanic emperor, on the borders of other worlds.

Archeoforum Museum of Liege: Subterranean complex featuring Roman & medieval ruins, interpretive exhibits & iPad-based tours. Address: Place St Lambert, 4000 Liège, Belgium

Liège Cathedral , otherwise St. Paul’s Cathedral, is the seat of the Diocese of Liège. During the French Revolution the ancient cathedral of Liège, St. Lambert’s Cathedral, was destroyed systematically, from 1794 onwards. After the revolutionary fervour had evaporated a new cathedral was needed. The ancient collegiate church of St. Paul’s was thought suitable for the purpose and was elevated in rank, before 1812. This is the present Liège Cathedral. The present cathedral of Liège was originally one among the seven collegiate churches of the city. It was founded in the 10th century, reconstructed between the 13th and 15th centuries, and restored in the mid-19th century.

Allies’ Memorial in Liège As the first city to have effectively opposed the invaders in 1914, Liège was chosen in 1925 by the International Federation of Allied Ex-Servicemen to erect an inter-Allied monument. Its design was entrusted to the Antwerp architect, Joseph Smoderen. The civil memorial contains several monuments offered to Liège by the allied Nations; 8 countries are currently represented: Italy, France, Rumania, Spain, Greece, Great-Britain, Poland and Russia. This monuments are located outdoors (on the esplanade) or inside the tower (in its crypt and in its low and high rooms).

The Prince-Bishops’ Palace is an iconic building in Liège which you can admire in the Place Saint-Lambert, in the city centre. Also known as the Episcopal Palace of Liège, it currently houses the provincial government in one half, and the law court in the other half. Two constructions preceded the current Prince-Bishops’ Palace. The first one, built during the episcopate of Notger, was integrated into the fortifications of the first city wall. It disappeared during a fire in 1185. The second suffered the same fate in 1505. The current palace owes most of its splendour and originality to Erard de la Marck.